euromed logo
en fr ar
Restricted Area

Barcelona 1995: enhancing mutual understanding and dialogue between Mediterranean countries

Since the meeting held in Barcelona in 1995, when the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership between the European Union (EU) and its Southern neighbours was launched to the end of building an “area of peace, security and prosperity”, culture has been recognized as an essential element for people’s mutual understanding and improvement of perception of each other across the shores of the Mediterranean Sea. As stressed in the third chapter of the Barcelona Declaration dealing with social, cultural and human issues, the main objectives are the development of human resources, promotion of understanding between cultures and exchange between civil societies.

Fifteen Member States of the EU and twelve Mediterranean Partner countries (Algeria, Cyprus, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, Palestinian Authority, Syria, Tunisia and Turkey) set up the partnership.

1998-2007: MEDA, a financial instrument for regional co-operation

Through the MEDA financial instrument, managed by the European Commission’s EuropeAid Co-operation Office, the Euromed Heritage regional programme has committed since 1998 a total of 57 million of euro to fund partnerships between conservation experts and heritage institutions from the countries of the Mediterranean Sea.  Almost 400 partners from the Member States of the EU and Mediterranean Partner countries have benefited from the Programme during its past phases:

Euromed Heritage I (1998-2004)
Euromed Heritage II (2002-2007)
Euromed Heritage III (2004-2008)

2003: the European Neighbourhood Policy

Since 2003 the European Union has developed an external relations policy which would take into account the 2004 EU’s enlargement. As a consequence, the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership is now part of a wider European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) including the EU member states and nine countries from the Mediterranean basin: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestinian Authority, Syria and Tunisia.

2007:  the European Neighbourhood and Partnership Instrument

From January 2007 the European Neighbourhood and Partnership Instrument (ENPI) is the new funding mechanism for Community external assistance covering the period 2007-2013.

2008-2012: Euromed Heritage 4, a step forward

The main objective of Euromed Heritage 4 is to facilitate the appropriation of cultural heritage by populations themselves and to favour the access to education and knowledge of cultural heritage. A budget of 13.5 million euros was allocated for this purpose.

Discover more about the Euromed Heritage 4 programme

Disclaimer | Copyright